Print this page

Mighty Sam McClain

Rate this talent
(3 votes)
Mighty Sam McClain - 5.0 out of 5 based on 3 votes

Mighty Sam McClain's early success was in the mid-sixties with Don Gibson's, "Sweet Dreams". It propelled this small town Louisiana boy to a stint at the Apollo Theatre. He recorded singles at Muscle Shoals Fame studio--"Fannie May", "In the Same Old Way" and many others on the Amy, Atlantic, Malaco and Bell labels.

Moving from Nashville to New Orleans in successive years found him doing menial jobs, sleeping outdoors and selling his plasma to survive. The Neville Brothers were instrumental in giving him a base to regroup. An invitation to do a tour in Japan in 1989 set him on track again. The resulting "Live In Japan" is a much sought after recording.

An invitation to be on a Hubert Sumlin project in the early 90's increased his visibility. But not until his move to New England (Boston) in 1992 did he get a solid band under him and presented his music "Give It Up To Love" to Joe Harley at AudioQuest Records. He went on to record four additional CDs for them and two CDs for Telarc when AQ folded "Blues for the Soul" (2000) and "Sweet Dreams" in 2001. With international and national appearances he has built a following, especially since his 1998 song, "New Man in Town" ("Journey"- 1998) was used in 12 episodes of David Kelley's "Ally McBeal".

Presently Sam operates McClain Productions from his home in Newmarket, NH and released his first solo production, "One More Bridge To Cross" in 2003, followed by "Betcha Didn't Know" in 2005. He has just completed his latest project, "Too Much Jesus (Not Enough Whiskey)" which is as yet, unreleased. In 2007 he devoted his time to the "Give US Your Poor" project, a national initiative to aid the homeless (especially important since he himself has been homeless more than once in pursuit of this musical journey). He recorded a song with Natalie Merchant for the CD and wrote and performed a duet with Jon Bon Jovi titled, "Show Me The Way".

His most recent achievement is a CD of love duets, “Scent of Reunion – Love Duets Across Civilizations” with Iranian vocalist Mahsa Vahdat.
The project was conceived and produced by Erik Hillestad whose label, Kirkelig Kulturverksted (www.kkv.com)is well known in Europe for its political and humanitarian projects. It was released in October 2009 with great reviews and acclamation. With this project MSM has stepped out of the box to demonstrate the versatility of his voice.

"The Soul of America" is his European title, but he is, just as the lyrics he wrote, "I'm a singer, a man with a song...and I've got a message for you.

Additional Info

  • Live Band Type: Blues Bands
  • Available For: Bars, Clubs, Concerts, Corporate Affairs/ Events, Private Parties/Events
  • Language(s): English

  • Country: United States
  • City / Region: Chicago, Newmarket, Monroe
  • State: IL, NH, LA
  • Zip Code:
  • Will Travel?: Yes

Image Gallery